A Virtual Studio Tour

 Celebrating the Day of the Dead

I am participating in Cloth Paper Scissors Virtual Studios Tour, October 15-17

Cloth Paper Scissors Magazine prints a special issue quarterly that highlights great studios and ideas that have inspired me to organize and revision my own space. I have added some new furniture and set up “areas” specific to each of the different types of art I do. The virtual tour is themed to include “Day of the Dead” imagery, which I just happen to have in my studio so these pictures highlight that holiday.

Studio View

My studio is a light filled retreat with a magnificent view of the mountains and is a bit like working in a tree house.

My husband made my custom-built work surface from reclaimed architectural pieces, old doors, newel posts and repurposed wooden pieces.Bead Station

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another view of the work surface from the area of the Bead Station where all my favorite beads are sorted into an old printers drawer. 

 

A way to keep mixed media bits organized

 

 

  My newest acquisition, an old metal postal sorting station, helps me keep the ephemera, bits and pieces used for mixed media work organized and ready to use.

 

  

The best way to be ready to create at any moment Shelves, spaces and bins for everything makes getting ready to create a breeze. 

 Fiber Arts storage

 

A great find, from the local post office, and antique bank of post office boxes, makes a handy storage system for all the bits of fiber, buttons, floss and embellishments used on fiber arts pieces that are sorted in the cubby holes by color.

  

doorway to fiber arts workroom

 

 

 

Here is a sneak peek from the studio into my office and sewing room. In view also is the cabinet that contains an assortment of beads and buttons, also sorted by color. The suitcases staked on the floor hold the less used items used in creating and a collection of vintage magazines for scrap. Specialty papers, too large for flat storage hang under the bead cabinet.

 

    Example of artwork

A closer view of the studio, where I have painted designs on my acid etched concrete floor inspired by Northwest Native American Art. Hanging from the paper storage system is an example of my fiber artwork, a prayer tote, which I constructed with hand-dyed fabrics, and includes handmade dolls (Martha and Lydia) that serve as handles, and is meant as a portable prayer center for carrying prayer journal, books and even has a space for incense sticks.

 

  

Work area

 

 

  It is tough to keep from daydreaming when working in this environment, but this is where all creativity starts.

 

6 thoughts on “A Virtual Studio Tour

  1. What a magical space to create in! I envy that fantastic work surface your sweet husband built and the view must be spectacular. I don’t see how you can keep from daydreaming instead of working. Thank you for sharing your creative haven.

  2. Your studio is my idea of heaven – spacious views, nature at hand, and the warmth of wood. Amazing. Thank you so much for sharing a peek into your world.

Leave a Reply

