The wisdom of the Tree of Life


Blessed is the man who has found wisdom . . . Her ways are good ways,
And all her paths are peaceful
She is a tree of life to all that lay hold upon her
Proverbs 3:18

As the work continues on the Tree of Life Project for Family of Grace Lutheran, I am thankful for the lessons I am learning at the foot of the tree. She is truly wisdom, and I gratefully accept the teachings about patience and presence that she teaches.

As I paint the tree, guided by the Spirit and present to the sensuous feel of a brushful of dye as it contacts the silk and how very little control I have over this process, it helps me see correlations to life in general.

As I honor the gift of nature that trees are to us, I am painfully aware of the whirring of chain saws in the little piece of forest we call our home. My husband and I had to make the difficult decision to remove some trees that have been threatening to fall on our home. We know that it is important to be safe, and that nature may have run her course in a different way with either fire or wind, but it is still very difficult to watch these majestic beauties come to an early end. Many have stood for more than 100 years offering protection and beauty. I find myself wondering how the Native Americans who walked this land before us would have felt about our stewardship of this place. Somehow, the spirits of these trees seem to be calling out to me this day and I grieve at the loss of them. Painting once again becomes the doorway to healing.

One thought on “The wisdom of the Tree of Life

  1. BEAUTIFUL Laurie! Just gorgeous. I love the center picture, which is most developed here. Looking up at trees from below is a wonderful image. Have you see Georgia O’Keefe’s tree from below at night? With yours I love seeing the golden light coming through the trees. I look forward to seeing the others.
    Kristen

Leave a Reply

